Tomato Chips? Yes please!

Like many of you, my garden is languishing under this heat.  Weeks of +100 degree temperatures has left me with plenty of vegetation that is setting no fruit.   Luckily, this year we signed up to participate in a local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) program.  For those of you unfamiliar with CSA, you essentially purchase “a share” of a farmers crop – assuming the same risks that the farmers face (i.e. drought, hail, etc).  In return each week of the summer you receive a bag full of fresh, local produce picked at it’s peak.   It’s kind of like opening a Christmas present each week, as you never know what will be in the bag!

Amongst other things, last weeks bag contained a couple of pounds of beautiful Roma Tomatoes, and I always say, “When life gives you Romas – make Tomato Chips!”    I’ve had the chips a time or two before and have always wanted to make them.   I was thrilled with how they came out.   Thin, crispy, and full of extremely intense tomato flavor!   Here’s how I made them:

Start with about 2 pounds of Roma Tomatoes. I had a couple that were just a bit soft, and I found they did not slice cleanly.   Firm tomatoes are best.

Mix about 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of salt and 1/2 tablespoon of pepper together in a bowl.

I used a mandolin to get nice, thin slices, they were probably about 1/8″thin.

As I sliced them, I threw into the olive oil S&P mixture.  Gently turn the tomatoes in the mixture with your hands to ensure they are all coated.

Next, fill up your dehydrator trays.  I have a Nesco American Harvest 1000 watt dehydrator that I got from Amazon a couple of years ago.  It’s an awesome unit, and has made many pounds of beef jerky and fruit roll-ups for us!  It came with “clean a screens”, which I set on top of the trays making it easier to clean-up things like tomatoes.

I set my dehydrator at the highest setting, 160 degrees, then just let it go.

While they were cooking I cleaned up.   The juice at the bottom of the bowl made for a tasty little drink.

Test them as they near doneness (but don’t eat them all just yet!).  They should be light, dry and crispy.  Just shy of three hours later, they were ready!

See how much thinner they are now…

Here’s the finished product – everyone gobbled them up, they lasted just 17 minutes in my house.

Bon Appétit!

3 thoughts on “Tomato Chips? Yes please!

Leave a Reply

